top of page

Yesterday's Success, Today's Challenge

Yesterday I finished up my tasks with the Pi 3 and started wiring! My main sensor is an AM2315, a temperature and humidity sensor that is the main feature of my project. I was excited about this sensor, but when I looked up information about it, I encountered warnings and knew it might be a challenge.

The good news is that I successfully wired it to my breadboard, downloaded the required items, libraries, etc, and was able to do an I2C detect on the pi with the results in the picture. A successful reading! (The little 5c is my sensor being detected, a little quirk....of many....that this sensor has is that you have to ask for detection several times, as it is in sleep mode until prompted))

The bad news is that after downloading further elements, such as the installation package for Quick2Wire, the am2315-python-api, and installing the setups for each, I was unsuccessful in my test. I am currently doing further research and found one person that had the same error that I am getting. Here is his post:

Following along with a rpi b+, I had to modify /usr/local/lib/python3.2/dist-packages/quick2wire_api-0.0.0.2-py3.2.egg/quick2wire/i2c.py and force default bus to 1. For some reason the revision() call was returning less than 1, forcing quick2wire to look at i2c-0 which is not where the AM2315 is plugged into.

I modified the code to set the default bus to read 1, but I am still getting the same error. I am spending most of the day on this. Unfortunately, my UV and break beam sensors have not yet arrived. I will save a couple last hours and set up and test my pi camera and TailGate switch so that I have some success today.

I knew that I was behind the 8 ball with this sensor, so plan B will be to have separate temp and humidity sensors, since I have already wired and tested those types.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page